하숙집 (Hasookjip) Living

As I’ve mentioned previously, I’m living in a hasookjip, or boarding house, rather than the university dormitories.  While initially planning my stay in Korea, I was interested in living in a hasookjip because it’s a more immersive experience than living in the dorms.  Not only do you actually use the language (English very quickly becomes the language-of-choice in the dorms), but you also get real, home-cooked Korean breakfasts and dinners.

I ended up applying for a dorm room anyway because it would have been convenient (it’s right next to the building where my classes are held) and would have helped me meet other students.  However, since dormitory housing is very limited at Yonsei, I didn’t get a spot.

I think that worked out for the best.  I’ve been here a week now, and despite the oppressive humidity and unrelenting heat, I’ve survived in my tiny hasookjip room (thanks to a fan that’s always on), made some friends, and enjoyed some great home-cooked meals.

Here are some snapshots from my meals here at the hasookjip.  Tonight, we had bibimbap for dinner (remember the airplane bibimbap I had exactly a week ago?).  This one was much, much better.  Home cooking makes everything tastier.

미역국 – traditional Korean seaweed soup

Part of breakfast at the hasookjib
Top (L to R): 오이김치 (cucumber kimchi), 김치 (“normal” cabbage kimchi), 김 (dried seaweed)
Bottom (L to R): 묵 (“mook”, an acorn-based firm jello-like side dish); 해물전 (seafood and green onion pancake)

Fish cakes – another hasookjip staple and a personal favorite! (my grandma’s is way better, though)

Yogurt drink that lots of kids drink in Korea. Brings back childhood memories!

Dinner side dishes, served alongside a pot of traditional purple (bean) rice and a meat dish; I think we had marinated chicken that night!

Tomato slices for dessert

콩나물국 (bean sprout soup)

The makings of a hasookjip bibimbap
Top: julienned cucumbers and sliced yellow and red bell peppers
Middle (L to R): ground beef, cooked mushrooms and squash
Bottom: cooked bean sprouts with light red pepper seasoning

Bibimbap condiments: 고추장 (spicy red pepper paste), 참기름 (sesame oil), and 오이김치 (cucumber kimchi)

Lastly, you know life is good when a wall at the convenience store/minimart around the corner looks like this…

Sorry for the poor quality iPhone photos!

17 comments

  1. gracie, my mouth is watering! i am tempted to go to koreatown right now for comfort food. i hope you are having a blast! thank you for your amazing photos (what camera are you using?) and blogs, i look forward to them!! xo sue-ann

    • Thanks Auntie Sue-ann! I’m having a great time so far. These photos were taken with my iPhone, but I usually use a Nikon Coolpix S8200 (it’s a point-and-shoot, but it’s got a great lens/image sensor and wide angle zoom). If you check out the photos on the Photo Reel page it tells you which camera I used in the bottom right corner (along with some other info). Thanks for reading!!

  2. Wow that bibimbap does look delicious! Just to let you know, the brown jello thingy is called mook and it is made of acorns! There is also a white version (brown is more common). The “Enyo” drink you had is Camille-Marie and I’s favorite (better that yogoruit)!

    • Ah, thank you, that’s it! And no kidding — I’d never had Enyo before! The last time I had a yogoruit was probably back in the day at Grandma’s house.

    • I try, I try :) It came to mind because my family made banh mi sandwiches at home right before I left, and we had to julienne carrots and daikon radishes for the pickled topping/filling. It’s such a great word!

  3. Hello Grace,

    I will be going to Yonsei this Fall and I am considering to stay in hasookjip too. It would mean a lot to me if you could provide me more information on this hasookjip you stayed like price per month, distance to Yonsei, facilities etc. Thank you so much :)

    • Definitely! I’ll send you an email :) I’ll also be putting up another post soon with some pictures of the hasookjip and my dorm room.

      • hai, sorry to butt in..
        my name is wan nee, from Indonesia. i’m planning to go to Yonsei next September. but i dont even know a thing about living in Korea. and i dont know anyone that can help me =( but from infos that i gather, it seems cheaper to live at Hasukjib since it also provide meals. but i dont know how to find and contact them nor the price range. so, would you mind if you send me the email too, please?

        Thank you so much. and again, sorry to butt in =)

      • Hey, can you send me an email too about this hasook? I think i know which one it is, but I”m not in korea at the moment. To book it did you email or call the ahjumma ahead of time? Or did you just show up and ask if she has room? I’m gonna be at yonsei in the spring and I’d like to live in a hasookjip as well.

  4. Pingback: Hostility, Honeymoons, and Home « tasty adventures

    • No, it didn’t. I just called ahead to make sure there was a spot and arrange arrival details. Renting a “one-room” (studio apartment) usually requires a deposit, but that’s because it’s more like a short-term lease than staying in a boarding house.

  5. Hi Grace –

    I’ll be coming to Seoul for the summer for a language program at Ewha and was interested in how you went about finding your hasookjib. I’m off traveling basically until the program starts, so any info would be really helpful. Would you mind dropping me an email as well?

    Thanks!
    Dustin


Leave a Reply

