The Perfect Café – Part 3 [Café Chloris]

After my noraebang experience the other day, I decided to hang out in a cafe for a bit to work on my blog and catch up on email.  A café right across the street caught my eye — an “Old French Traditional Tea House” by the name of Café Chloris.

I knew this place would be expensive before I even stepped inside, but I thought, why not give it a shot?  I am looking for the perfect café, after all.  This one could come close.  And come close it did.

After checking out the available seating on both floors of the café and asking if I could sit outside, I finally decided on a window table on the first floor (technically one story above ground level).  The place was full of plush chairs, sofas, and vintage coffee shop decor.

The menu confirmed the café’s expensiveness; drinks ranged from around 5,000 – 8,000 won.  I ordered a ‘morocan mint latte [sic]’ to continue the trend of ordering unique things (although most things here were pretty unique) and because I didn’t want coffee so late in the afternoon.

The tea looked delicious, so I was really hoping that it would taste as good as it appeared.  It’s hard to justify 7,000 won (almost $7) on a single cup o’ tea, even when it’s a latte.  On the upside, they gave me complimentary biscotti to enjoy with my tea.

On the downside, it wasn’t very good.  (I’m also not a huge fan of biscotti.  I have had some great biscotti in the past, though.)

The moroccan mint latte was, in fact, quite delicious.  I love mint tea, so I was expecting to like it, but it surpassed my expectations in every way.  While the mint flavor was definitely there, there was a stronger presence from what I presume to be a variety of spices – maybe some cinnamon, maybe a little nutmeg, among others?  (Warning: I’m really bad with spices, so these are just shots in the dark.)  Anyways, the flavors combined beautifully, and the balance of tea and steamed milk was just right.  I savored every sip.

The entire café was decorated according to theme – including the bathroom!  I found it all to be charming, and thought it added to the ambiance in a positive way.  I felt very comfortable settling down at my window table, and others seemed equally, if not more, content.

What I’ve realized is that prices on café menus reflect more than just the items themselves — you’re really paying for both what you order and the environment you’re in.  My latte and time spent in Café Chloris were completely worth 7,000 won.  The price points I mentioned in my original Perfect Café post were a little underestimated, so from now on I’ll be judging more based on whether the experience was worth what I paid.

I would’ve sat outside, but it was a bit too hot for that.  It seems like the perfect place to be on a rainy day, so I guess I’ll just have to come back!  Café Chloris is a keeper.

For more pictures and location information, check out their website here.

One comment

  1. Pingback: The Perfect Café – Part 4 [Market O] « tasty adventures


Leave a Reply

