Learning to Make 잡채 (Japchae)

Last Friday, my class spent two hours of our normal class time learning to make 잡채 (japchae), a traditional Korean stir-fried noodle dish.  I love japchae, so I was really excited to learn how to make it (and eat it of course)!  It’s an easy recipe, so I might try to make it on my own in the dorm kitchen at some point.  I’ll keep you posted.

recipe and instructions, in Korean of course

they set out everything we needed, so we just had to prepare it and put it all together

dangmyeon (also dangmyun, 당면), or Chinese vermicelli/glass/cellophane noodles made of starch

soy sauce, black pepper, sesame seeds, sugar, vegetable oil, crushed garlic, salt

our entire class, hard at work

the other classes at their cooking stations

two classmates and me

two classmates with our teacher (center)

잡채 (japchae), ready for eating!

success!

Leave a Reply

