National Museum of Korea

I admit I have some catching up to do…

When there are a few consecutive days when I don’t post (as has been the case recently), it’s often because I’ve been out and about more than usual (a good thing!).  So, let us return to last Thursday, when I visited the National Museum of Korea.  Here are some highlights:

– gorgeous Thursday afternoon – 

I had done some homework online, so I knew there were 2 ongoing special exhibitions that I might be interested in: one from the Louvre, and one entitled “‘Emperors in Istanbul”.  Entry to these exhibitions costs money, while the permanent collections are open to the public free of charge.  I didn’t go for two main reasons: first, I didn’t have enough time (I didn’t even get to all the rooms in the permanent collection…), and second, I will be in both Paris and Istanbul (hopefully!) within the next 6 months.  I might try to come back to the National Museum of Korea, but it’s not high on my priorities list.

– walkway leading up to the museum –

– pond in front of the museum –

– entrance with a view of Namsan (Seoul) Tower –

– entrance to the permanent collection –

– main hall –

– 10-story pagoda –

– gold necklace from the Silla period –

– gold crown and belt from the Silla period –

– ancient Silla burial mounds –

– clay carvings –

– replica of the first world map made in the Joseon period (1402) –

After wandering the historical exhibits on the first floor for a bit, I made my way to the calligraphy and painting section on the second floor.  Since it was mid-afternoon on a Thursday, the museum was quiet and pretty empty for the most part.  I loved being the only person in some of the rooms — the feeling of being surrounded only by art on all sides is wonderfully peaceful and calming.

Going to museums is something I like to do on my own.  It’s just one of those things that I appreciate more when I’m by myself.  Maybe it’s because I tend to move through exhibits kind of slowly and end up doing quite a bit of thinking in museums.  Or, maybe I’m just an anti-social, turtle-paced weirdo with my head up in the clouds.  Either way, this was a great place to be that Thursday afternoon.

National Museum of Korea

Yongsan-dong 6-ga 168-6 (Seobinggo-ro 137), Yongsan-gu, Seoul, Korea,140-026

http://www.museum.go.kr

Subway: Ichon Station, Exit 2 (Line 4/Jungang line)

Admission: Free for the permanent collection (Main Exhibition Hall and Children’s Museum)

6 comments

  1. Pingback: Student By Day, Tourist By Night (And Day) « tasty adventures


Leave a Reply

