About Me

So I updated my ‘About’ page last week, and I hope this new version is a bit more interesting than what I had before… If not, well, I tried. I’ve included it below so you don’t even have to click on the ‘About’ section in the header to read it (in case you’re interested). Cheers!

Hi! It’s very nice to (virtually) meet you. Or maybe we’ve already met, in which case…never mind.

My name is Grace Pai and I’m a Los Angeles native (read: beach bum wannabe) studying public policy at the University of Chicago. My time at the U of C has been intensely rewarding…and stressful. Though I’ve loved (almost) every minute and am absolutely, head-over-heels in love with the city (despite its lack of real beaches), I will be spending most of my third year of college abroad. I’m looking to pop the bubble around my existence (or expand it, at the very least) by traveling and operating outside of my comfort zone.

From June 2012 through March 2013, I’ll be studying in three incredible cities: Seoul, Rome, and Paris. During the ten weeks I spend in each country, I hope to engage with the city, its culture, and its people, just as I have done in Chicago. I will certainly miss being on campus (particularly as a student activist), but I trust that these experiences will enrich my education and help me discover more about who I am.

About the blog…

My goal is to chronicle my experiences with a focus on food and travel, and to provide the perspective of a young, Korean-American student exploring the world, little by little. Don’t worry – this isn’t meant to be a journal of my travels, so I won’t be writing day-by-day recaps. It’ll be more of a highlights reel of what I find to be interesting and delicious. I’m also working on improving my photography skills, so unless otherwise noted, all photos I post are my own.

About me as a blogger…

As I sit here revising my “about” section, I thought I should add a little about my blogger self. This is my first blog, and I started it as a way to keep in touch with my friends and family back home. It’s a bit of an experiment, and I’m learning as I write. I hope the posts I write are more like little, entertaining stories about my life abroad. I hope they make you smile, or even chuckle, because lots of smiles went into writing them.

I’ve already been quite impressed by the WordPress community, and I’m working on becoming a truer part of it. To the bloggers I follow — I’m not following you just so that you’ll follow me. I follow you because I’m truly interested in what you post. Maybe you’ve made me laugh or have helped me in some way. Maybe you make me feel like I can relate to your experiences. Similarly, if I’ve liked your post, I read the entire thing and wanted to tell you it was lovely (without a generic “Great post!” comment). To all of you — thanks for being awesome. You’ve taught me so much already.

So, in sum, this blog is just about me. It’s about what I do, what I eat, what I see. (Sounds narcissistic, huh?)

If you’re interested, come on in, and welcome!

If not, like I said, it was nice to meet you!

grace
4 comments

  1. Sometimes you don’t realize a good thing till its gone! Enjoy your travels! I’m currently travelling vicariously through you…so keep up the posts too! Fun!

  2. Grace, thank you so much for sharing. I am planning to go to Seoul in October and am wondering if there is a hotel or tour guide you would recommend. So excited to go! I will be traveling w/ husband and son.
    -k

    • Hi Kathryn,
      I’m sorry to say I don’t know much about hotels or tour guides here… However, when my family was here on vacation five years ago, I’m pretty sure we stayed at the Hotel Prince in Myung-dong. I’d say it’s got a great location (as long as you don’t mind being in a busy area — Myung-dong is a crazy shopping hub). It’s right next to the subway station, which is really convenient. Let me know if I can be of any more help!
      Grace


Leave a Reply

