Bubble Tea & Notre Dame

A couple Fridays ago, a friend and I headed to Notre Dame to check out the cathedral and the surrounding area. On our way, we passed by a bubble tea café and just had to give it a try.  After all, who knows when we’ll find another boba joint in Paris?

Boba in Paris (!)

Boba in Paris (!!)

The tapioca balls were surprisingly good (and I like to think I know good boba considering the many variations I’ve tried in LA).  It was on the soft/chewy side of the boba spectrum (yes, there is a boba spectrum) and a tad bit sweet, which I liked.  The tea itself was a standard black milk tea.  We decided to take a brief break from the cold and enjoyed our drinks at a small table inside.  I always finish my boba faster than I intend, so it was gone before I knew it.  But that just meant it was time to head to Notre Dame!

A visit to Notre Dame

Notre Dame, the Seine, and me

2013 is its 850th anniversary!

2013: Notre Dame’s 850th anniversary!

Famous façade

Famous façade

Inside the cathedral!

Inside the cathedral!

Beautiful chandeliers

Beautiful soft lighting

Chandeliers and stained glass

Chandeliers and stained glass

Apse and altar

Apse and altar

Beautiful.

Beautiful.

A portion of the huge chandelier that used to hang in Notre Dame

A portion of the huge chandelier that used to hang in Notre Dame

Nativity scene

Nativity scene

Candles

Candles

Unfortunately, we didn’t have time to climb up to the bell tower, so we’ll definitely be back to catch those great views of Paris.  But the cathedral’s interior was plenty to take in for one afternoon – beautiful, majestic, and awe-inspiring don’t do it justice.


Leave a comment